God is in Every Pose: Day Two at Blue Lake

God is in Every Pose: Day Two at Blue Lake

“God is in every pose.”  BKS Iyengar

“Find the altar of sattva  inside yourself.”  Geeta Iyengar

We had another  inspiring day  up here at Blue Lake Ranch.  Asana wise we did some standing poses and forward bends  leading to  kurmasana and padmasana.   We spent a good deal of  time with Acarna Dhanurasana. I have been exploring that pose a lot for the past two weeks with assessment prep so it was great to go to the next level  with  it.

I found myself a bit disappointed that we didn’t have a philosophy discussion  in the afternoon, but some more padmasana work and  inversions with padmasana was also great.  I am making some progress in those poses but still  have a ways to go. In sarvangasana  I’m at least moving from my padmasana legs being horizontal to the floor toward vertical.  Not that they are there without help by a long shot,  but my newly found awareness of the  outer buttock muscles is  helping  even against gravity.

God is in every pose.

Patricia told us that is what BKS Iyengar told her one time  while they were practicing.  I think we were in padmasana when she said this.  The God of padmasana is rather different from the God of Dwi Pada Viparita Dandasana.   It reminded me of that  Heraclitus quote

To God everything is  beautiful, good and just,  humans however think some things are just  some things are unjust.

Not a great translation,   but you get the gist.

I often think of poses as ones I like, can do, can bear,  and one’s I  can’t,  poses I don’t  like to do, poses I do like  to  do.   I also think of poses like padmasana as one’s that God gives some people and not others.  I joke frequently  that  God  gave me the opportunity to work on  padmasana.

The last time I taught  yoga  at Baylor  we  had an additional joke about this  regarding  padmasana predetermination  and  but  what if  we are all  equally blessed.  For that we have to go beyond our ability to do or  not  do,  beyond  avidya.

We have to go inward to what  Geeta  referred to as the inner altar of sattva.

At the level of

1.03 tadā draṣṭuḥ svarūpe ‘vasthānam
Then, the seer dwells in his own true splendour. (I)

When that is accomplished, the seer abides in its own true nature. (B)

There  we are equally blessed.  Not that our path to getting there and experiencing  our true splendor is  “equal” by any stretch of the imagination.  Equal in the sense that it is all governed by karma  but

2.13 sati mūle tad-vipāko jāty-āyur-bhogāḥ
As long as the root of actions exists, it will give rise to class of birth, span of life and experiences. (I)

As long as the root [ of the klesas] exists. It fructifies as a type of birth, span of life, and life experience [of an individual] (B)

2.14 te hlāda-paritāpa-phalāḥ puṇyāpuṇya-hetutvāt
According to our good, bad or mixed actions, the quality of our life, its span, and the nature of birth are experienced as being pleasant or painful. (I)

These [ the type of birth, span of life, and life experience] bear the fruits of pleasure and pain, as a result of [the performance of] virtue and vice. (B)

The variety  of type of birth  span of  life and life experience  is vast and varied  and at least from  our human perspective radically unequal.

However,  to be honest  until Patricia said this, I have to admit  I did not  think of  God as actually being in the pose,  as being in  every  pose.  I thought of poses more  as  events or  things I’m working on.   I do  when I’m in a different frame of mind  try to inhabit  the pose,  to experience myself from the perspective of the pose,

but  I’ve not really thought of  poses as  God infused.  Of course,  if  God is  everywhere,  God is in poses too.

Food for thought.

Off to Day Three.

To God everything is beautiful, good, and just; humans, however, think some things are unjust and others just.
Read more at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/h/heraclitus.html

To God everything is beautiful, good, and just; humans, however, think some things are unjust and others just.
Read more at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/h/heraclitus.html

To God everything is beautiful, good, and just; humans, however, think some things are unjust and others just.
Read more at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/h/heraclitus.html

Posted 2 weeks ago by Anne-Marie Schultz

Deixe um comentário

